• search-icon

Sarah Mangiola

Originally from California, Sarah has been writing and editing professionally since moving to New York after college. You can often find her obsessing over anything old and classic—especially when the cover requires some dusting off. Her favorite books include the entire Harry Potter series, Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen, and A Separate Peace by John Knowles.

15 Ann Rule Books You Won’t Be Able to Put Down

Ted Bundy’s story was just the beginning.

8 True Crime Books About Terrifying Mothers

Chocolates and flowers might not satisfy these vicious “caretakers.”

7 Thriller Books with Paranormal Twists

They will hold you in suspense until the very end.

Gary Ridgway: The Green River Killer Who Evaded Capture for 20 Years

This serial killer was convicted of 48 murders, though he confessed to at least 71.

Forgiveness Won’t Be Easy in This Horror Short Story

Witching Hour: Vices and Virtues collects twisted and terrifying stories that will haunt your dreams. 

20 Ghost Books to Haunt Your Days (and Nights)

Warning: Read only if you can afford some sleepless nights.

Nightmare Fuel: A Serial Killer Stalks One Man’s Dreams

A murderer once thought to be dead is very much alive in this thriller. 

Gone in the Dark: The 40-Year Hunt for the Golden State Killer

Michelle McNamara’s obsessive search for the man who terrorized California during the 1970s and ‘80s is chronicled in her book, I’ll Be Gone in the Dark

Lizzie Borden’s Secret Motive for Murder?

A romantic relationship gone awry and troubles at home could explain why many still believe Lizzie Borden killed her parents.

9 Books Like Gone Girl

Unreliable narrators and terrifying suspense are just the beginning...

40 Scariest Books of the Last 200 Years

Because a truly scary story is timeless.

Just How Easy is It to Slip Into the Darkness? 

In Ruth Rendell’s psychological thriller, the paths of three lost individuals converge with deadly results.

25 Books About the World’s Most Famous Serial Killers

From the never-caught Zodiac Killer to charming-but-deadly Ted Bundy, there’s always more to the story.

A Death in White Bear Lake: The Child Abuse Case That Led to Murder

The suspicious death of Dennis Jurgens wasn’t properly investigated for 20 years.

Candy Montgomery: The Desperate Housewife Who Murdered Her Good Friend

What really happened on that fateful Friday the 13th in 1980?

Cold Blooded: The Deadly Woman with 38 Aliases Who Murdered Her Husband

Attorney Larry McNabney had a great life…that is, until his wife decided to take it.

9 Books for Fans of Law & Order True Crime 

Murder, betrayal, and scandal create the perfect recipe for great television.

scroll up