• search-icon

books

On the hunt for a killer read? Join us as we track down the best scary books, horror books, and true crime books around.

Caitlin Doughty Talks Death—And Why We Shouldn't Shy Away From It

The author of "From Here to Eternity" discusses funerals, cremations, and other death rituals from around the world.

by Catherine Phelan

Secrets and Lies: Lost at Sea or Murdered in Cold Blood?

In this psychological thriller, a husband's disappearance begins a dangerous game of deception.

by Olivia Mason

[CLOSED] GIVEAWAY: From Here to Eternity: Traveling the World to Find the Good Death, by Caitlin Doughty

Enter for a chance to win a copy of the "Ask a Mortician" web series creator's new book.

by The Lineup Staff

Cold Blooded: The Deadly Woman with 38 Aliases Who Murdered Her Husband

Attorney Larry McNabney had a great life…that is, until his wife decided to take it.

by Sarah Mangiola

9 Books for Fans of Law & Order True Crime 

Murder, betrayal, and scandal create the perfect recipe for great television.

by Sarah Mangiola

[CLOSED] Enter to Win a Copy of The Bayou Strangler, by Fred Rosen

This true crime book examines the murders that rattled Louisiana's gay community in the late '90s and early '00s.

by The Lineup Staff

Randy Roth: The Wife Killer Who Almost Got Away With Murder

When Randy Roth’s fourth wife Cynthia died in an “accidental drowning,” police looked into his suspicious past and were shocked by what they found.

by Sarah Mangiola

7 True Crime Books for Ann Rule Fans

Add these books about disturbing cases to your list.

by The Lineup Staff

Deadly Greed: Charles Stuart Killed His Wife and Their Unborn Child for the Insurance Money

The father-to-be shot his wife and then himself to make it look like a botched robbery-murder.

by Sarah Mangiola

Murder in New Bedford: The Unsolved Case of New England's Deadliest Serial Killer

Nine women turned up dead. Two more were never found. To this day, the killer remains at large.

by Sarah Mangiola

The Mad Chopper: One Cut Was Not Enough

True crime author Fred Rosen remembers a case so gruesome even he hesitated to take it on.

by Fred Rosen

House of Horrors: The Heinous Crimes of Fred and Rosemary West

The murderous duo killed at least nine people together between their meeting in 1969 and their eventual arrest in 1994.

by Sarah Mangiola

The Unspeakable Crimes of Dr. Petiot

Parisians thought they were escaping Nazi-occupied France. Instead, they faced death at the hands of a sick and twisted man.

by Daniel O'Connor

 7 Chilling Books About Real-Life Kidnappings 

These true stories recount some of the world’s most shocking cases.

by Sarah Mangiola

scroll up