• search-icon

books

On the hunt for a killer read? Join us as we track down the best scary books, horror books, and true crime books around.

Richard Chase: The Serial Killer Who Drank the Blood of His Victims 

In the late 1970s, the "Vampire of Sacramento" brutally murdered six people in less than a month.

by Olivia Mason

12 Creepy Kids Books That Scarred Us for Life

These darker tales intended for children are guaranteed to give you nightmares.

by Jessica Ferri

33 Books About the World’s Most Famous Serial Killers

From the never-caught Zodiac Killer to charming-but-deadly Ted Bundy, there’s always more to the story.

by Sarah Mangiola

A Death in White Bear Lake: The Child Abuse Case That Led to Murder

The suspicious death of Dennis Jurgens wasn’t properly investigated for 20 years.

by Sarah Mangiola

And Then There Were None: The Family Annihilator Who Killed for Attention

Did Jack Barron kill his entire family to gain sympathy from others?

by Olivia Mason

Caitlin Doughty Talks Death—And Why We Shouldn't Shy Away From It

The author of "From Here to Eternity" discusses funerals, cremations, and other death rituals from around the world.

by Catherine Phelan

Secrets and Lies: Lost at Sea or Murdered in Cold Blood?

In this psychological thriller, a husband's disappearance begins a dangerous game of deception.

by Olivia Mason

Cold Blooded: The Deadly Woman with 38 Aliases Who Murdered Her Husband

Attorney Larry McNabney had a great life…that is, until his wife decided to take it.

by Sarah Mangiola

9 Books for Fans of Law & Order True Crime 

Murder, betrayal, and scandal create the perfect recipe for great television.

by Sarah Mangiola

Randy Roth: The Wife Killer Who Almost Got Away With Murder

When Randy Roth’s fourth wife Cynthia died in an “accidental drowning,” police looked into his suspicious past and were shocked by what they found.

by Sarah Mangiola

scroll up